2011 Scream Awards

Will Matt Smith Leave Doctor Who Next Year?

Matt Smith has bowled over even the most conservative Doctor Who fans in his tenure as the show’s time-traveling wizard. So it’s dreadful news that we could be looking at a new Doctor a year from now — just in time for the show’s 50th anniversary in 2013.


Doctor Who Matt Smith Spike TV’s 2011 Scream Awards Arrivals

Matt Smith has scooped the Best Science Fiction Actor award for his role as the 11th Doctor in the 2011 Scream Awards.
Smith managed to fight off fierce competition from big Hollywood names including Daniel Craig (Cowboys & Aliens), Chris Evans (Captain America: The First Avenger), Harrison Ford (Cowboys & Aliens) and Jake Gyllenhaal (Source Code). No mean feat, especially considering it was an American awards show.
Karen Gillan was nominated for Best Science Fiction Actress, but lost out to Milla Jovovich for her turn in zombie stinker, Resident Evil: Afterlife.
Doctor Who was also up for Best TV Show, but Game of Thrones took it in the end.
Still, congrats to Matt Smith for taking home one!
Source:Doctor Who/BBC