O Music Awards

Katy Perry, Lady Gaga And Tyler The Creator Lead List Of O Music Awards

Following the success of the inaugural O Music Awards from April, MTV Music Group today announced that O Music Awards 2, the multiplatform event celebrating and honoring the artists, innovators and fans of digital music culture will return for this year’s second awards festivities live on October 31, 2011. The multiplatform experience will utilize MTV Music Group’s multiple screens. Fans will be able to watch the entire show live on OMusicAwards.com, as well as select performances across MTV Music Group websites (MTV.com, VH1.com, CMT.com, LogoTV.com and MTVHive.com). In addition, there will be integration in television, mobile and tablets. This cycle’s nominees span multiple musical genres and decades and include a mix of established and up-and-coming artists.
Battling it out for the most nominations are artists that run the gamut from web sensations to pop royalty to an outspoken legend. Leading with two nominations each are Odd Future’s Tyler the Creator (Most Outrageous Tweet and Best Web Born Artist), Lady Gaga (Fan Army FTW and Must Follow Artist on Twitter), The Weeknd (Best Web-Born Artist and Too Much Ass for TV), Katy Perry (Best Lyrics Video and Best Artist with a Cameraphone), Justin Bieber (Fan Army FTW and Best Artist with a Cameraphone), Demi Lovato (Fan Army FTW and Best Artist with a Cameraphone), and Sinead O’Connor (Oops! I Did It Online Award and Best Vintage Viral Video). Other nominated artists include Cher, Nirvana, Lil Wayne, Iron Maiden, Dolly Parton, Bjork, Wayne Coyne, Scissor Sisters, Best Coast, and Big Freedia.

Fan, innovators, products, and blog nominees include Air National Guard Band “Sidewinder” for their cover of Adele’s Rolling in the Deep, Topspin’s Ian Rogers and The Hype Machine’s Arkadiy Kukarkin in the Hottest Music NILF (Nerd I’d Like to F*ck) category, Banjo Hangout and Rap Genius for Best Music Forum, Spin and WFMU’s Beware of the Blog in the Beyond the Blog category, SoundCloud and Songkick in the Best Music App category, and Turntable FM and Spotify in the Most Addictive Social Music Service category.
Voting begins today on the O Music Awards site, http://www.omusicawards.com Each .award category features pre-selected nominees but also allows fans to write in a nominee and then rally support for them through their social graph. On Thursday, October 6, MTV Music Group will announce the fan selected nominees, who will then be added into the category.
In addition, fans can participate via the O Music Awards Facebook page,http://www.facebook.com/MTVOMA Twitt,er, http://www.twitter.com/MTVOMA and T,umblr, http://omusicawards.tumblr.com