Willow Smith

Justin Bieber, Bruno Mars, Muse Added To Grammy Show February 13, 2011

While Willow Smith is the one who made music headlines with “Whip My Hair” last year, it’s her brother, “Karate Kid” actor Jaden Smith, who will take the stage at the upcoming 53rd Grammy Awards in a special performance alongside Usher and Justin Bieber, with whom he collaborated on the song “Never Say Never” last summer.

The trio joins a list of new performers added to the show on Thursday (January 20) that will also include another power trifecta made up of B.o.B, Bruno Mars and Janelle Monáe, according to a press release from the Recording Academy announcing the additions to the February 13 telecast from the Staples Center in Los Angeles.

Also taking the stage next month will be nominees Muse and Lady Antebellum. They will join a roster of previously announced performers that includes Eminem, Lady Gaga, Katy Perry, Arcade Fire, Cee Lo Green and Miranda Lambert. It will be the first time on the Grammy performance stage for Bieber, B.o.B, Lambert, Mars, Monáe, Muse and Smith. Eminem, Green, Gaga, Perry, Usher and Lady Antebellum will be making return visits for the occasion.

Source: MTV News

How ‘Jimmy Fallon’ Whips Its Late-Night Music Competition

Bookmark and Share

Photo: Courtesy of NBC
When Bruce Springsteen decided to crash late night and whip his hair in November, it was as sure a sign as any that “Late Night With Jimmy Fallon” has emerged as a highly coveted platform for musical guests.

Since the Nov. 16 episode that featured the Boss covering Willow Smith’s pop hit with Fallon, the NBC talk show has capped off 2010 with Paul McCartney performing his John Lennon tribute “Here Today,” R. Kellyplaying “Ignition (Remix)” during a two-night stint and Stephen Bishop reviving his “Tootsie” theme song, “It Might Be You,” alongside house band the Roots. Read more>>

The Promise

Fergie Returns As Host of Los Angeles Party Segment During Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve With Ryan Seacrest 2011

Bookmark and Share

Photo: Courtesy of ABC

For the 39 consecutive year, “Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest 2011” will lead America into the New Year. Dick Clark and Ryan Seacrest will host the special with recently announced Times Square Correspondent Jenny McCarthy. The show will begin at 10:00 p.m., ET on Friday, December 31 on the ABC Television Network. Singer/songwriter Fergie of The Black Eyed Peas returns to host the Los Angeles-based party portions of the specials. The Los Angeles lineup includes performances by Jennifer Hudson, Willow Smith, Ne-Yo, Avril Lavigne, Drake, Jason Derulo, La Roux, Mike Posner, Natasha Bedingfield, Far East Movement and Train.
The bi-coastal celebration will include three and one-half hours of special performances and reports on New Year’s celebrations from around the globe, as well as the American tradition of Dick Clark counting down to midnight from Times Square in New York City. 
The festivities will kick off with “Dick Clark’s Primetime New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest 2011” from 10:00-11:00 p.m., ET, featuring the only live performances from New York’s Times Square, as well as multiple performances from the Los Angeles celebration.